Contact us | E-mail
Mission & Objectives
Activities Organized
Workplan 2018
Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Award
  • Guidelines
Board of Trustees
TAAS Publications
Upcoming Activities
Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture

General Guidelines

The enormous achievements of Dr. M.S. Swaminathan towards agricultural renaissance of India are indeed well known world wide.  He has been the main architect of “Green Revolution”. A great visionary and crusader, Dr. Swaminathan is currently a staunch advocate of sustainable agriculture as well as “Ever Green Revolution”, needed for ensuring future household food and nutritional security. In recognition of his outstanding contributions he was awarded the first World Food Prize, the Ramon Magsasay Award and many other national and international honors. He was acclaimed by the Time Magazine as one of the twenty most influential Asians of the 20th Century, one of the three from India – the other two being Mahatma Gandhi and Rabindranath Tagore.

The Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences has instituted an Award in the honor of   Dr. Swaminathan. The prestigious Award was instituted in 2004 with the objective to recognize life time contributions of eminent persons who have made great impact in the field of agriculture globally, and for overall food security and sustainability of agriculture in India.

Description of the Award
The Award consists of a plaque of honour, citation, shawl and memento, besides expenses towards travel and local hospitality.
The Award will be given annually.
The Awardee shall deliver a Special Lecture during the Award Function. The Lecture shall be printed and circulated widely.
The Trust will meet the travel expenses and provide local hospitality to the Awardee for attending the Award function.


The Award is a lifetime achievement award to be given to persons who have made outstanding contributions to agricultural research and development (with special reference to India) irrespective of his/her nationality.

A deceased person will not be considered for the Award. However, the Award may be given posthumously in the event of the nominee’s death after the Board of Trustees announces the name of the Awardee.


Nominations can be made by Eminent Persons/ Fellows of Academies/Head of Institutions/NGOs, having full knowledge of the contributions of the nominee.

Nominations accompanied by brief bio-data and a concise statement (about 250 words) of important contributions of the nominee should be sent to the Chairman, TAAS.

Nominations shall be valid only for the year of consideration.

Self nomination will not be accepted.

Selection Procedure
Selection of the Awardee shall be made by a committee of experts, constituted by the Board of Trustees of the TAAS. The experts shall comprise past Awardees, renowned scientists and eminent personalities, including some members of the Board of Trustees. 
The selection committee shall critically examine the information provided by the nominator and may also obtain views of some other experts who are knowledgeable regarding contributions of the nominee under consideration.
Recommendations of the selection committee shall be considered by the Board of Trustees for selecting the Awardee.

Final Selection
The Board of Trustees shall be responsible for the final selection of Awardees.
The deliberations relating to final selections shall not be made public or otherwise revealed.
Any selection made by the Board of Trustees shall be deemed final. No protest against any Award shall be entertained by TAAS.

Past Awardees

The First Recipient of the Award was Nobel Laureate Dr. Norman E. Borlaug

b The Second Recipient of the Award is World Food Prize Laureate Dr. Gurudev Singh Khush
b The Third Recipient of the Award is World Food Prize Laureate Dr. S.K. Vasal