Contact us | E-mail
Mission & Objectives
Activities Organized
Workplan 2018
Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Award
  • Announcement
Board of Trustees
TAAS Publications
Upcoming Activities
  Nominations Invited

Nominations are invited for Tenth Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture.

The Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences (TAAS) has instituted an Award in honour of leading Indian Agricultural Scientist, Dr. M.S. Swaminathan. This prestigious Award is named as “Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture” and is given annually to a scientist for his/her outstanding contributions in agriculture as demonstrated by the impact of his/her work on overall agricultural growth innIndia and globally.The First recipient of the Award was Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, Nobel Laureate and it was given by Hon’ble Ex-President of India, Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam in March, 2005. The Second Award was presented to another distinguished scientist and World Food Laureate, Dr. G.S. Khush, by the then  Hon’ble Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh, during the International Rice Congress held in New Delhi on 9th October, 2006. The other recipients of the Award were: - Dr. S.K. Vasal, a leading scientist in the field of Quality Protein Maize (QPM) and also World Food Prize laureate; Dr. Rattan Lal, A renowned Soil Scientist and Director of Carbon Management and Sequestration Center at The Ohio State University; Dr. Sanjay Rajaram, an Eminent Wheat Breeder and also a World Food Awardee; Dr. M.C. Saxena, Former Assistant Director General, ICARDA, and a leading legume agronomist; Dr. William D. Dar, Director General, International Crop Research Institute for Semi Arid Tropics (ICRISAT); and Dr. Thomas Lumpkin, Former Director General, CIMMYT, Mexico. Recently, on the 30th October, 2017, this award was conferred on Dr. (Ms.) Uma Lele, Former Senior Advisor, The World Bank by Dr. Y.K. Alagh, former Union Minister, Govt. of India for her extensive contribution towards promoting the cause of food, agriculture and nutritional security.

TAAS takes this opportunity to seek nominations of suitable candidates for this Award, so as to reach the Secretariat on or before 31st March, 2018. The proposals already received last year will be considered.

The required information on Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Award and the procedure of nomination are given in the guidelines available on TAAS website at:

TAAS shall appreciate receiving Suitable nominations, latest by 31 March, 2018.